Jury 2019

The Judges of Value-Based Health Care Prize 2019

The Value-Based Health Care Prize welcomes an international jury composed of key healthcare experts and academics. This panel of independent and international VBHC experts will judge your application and give feedback on how to push your initiative to the next level. Are you curious about who they are?



Prof. Elizabeth Teisberg, PhD is the co-creator of the idea of value-based health care strategy. Currently, she serves as Executive Director of the Value Institute for Health and Care.

Prof. dr. Teisberg has won many awards, including the Book of the Year Award from the American College of Health Care Executive, the Wachovia Award for outstanding research, and Frederick S. Morton Award for Leaderships.


Prof. Robert S. Kaplan, PhD is a Senior Fellow and Marvin Bower Professor of Leadership Development, Emeritus at the Harvard Business School, is co-developer of both activity-based costing (ABC) and the Balanced Scorecard (BSC).

He currently works with Michael Porter on the HBS Value Based Health Care initiative to introduce time-driven activity-based costing (TDABC) and value-based bundled payments to health care.


Dr. Christina Rångemark Åkerman, MD, PhD, MBA is President of ICHOM and Senior Institute Associate at the Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness (ISC) at Harvard Business School. During 2004-2014, she was also a Member of the Board of the European Medicines Agency (EMA), which is responsible for the scientific evaluation of medicines for use in the European Union.

Prof. Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, MPH is a professor and Director at the Department of Health Policy and Management at The George Washington University as well as a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives. He is an expert on the mechanisms of organizational change and strategic decision-making in health service organizations.


Prof. Sir Muir Gray has been active in the Public Health Service in England since 1972. He is responsible for the development of the National Screening Committee.

Currently he is active as consultant in Public Health for the University of Oxford Hospitals NHS Trust, focusing on the Oxford Academic Health Science Network (AHSN).


Prof. Federico Lega, PhD is a Professor of Healthcare Management and Policy at Bocconi University.

Since 2006 he has been the Head of Executive Education for the Healthcare sector at SDA Bocconi School of Management (SDA). From 2002 to 2008, he was Director of the Master in Healthcare Management (MIMS – Italian class).

Dr. Jens Deerberg-Wittram, MD served as the first President of ICHOM between 2012 and 2014.

Over the years, his focus has been on developing and implementing value-based corporate strategy, as well as on establishing a global, standardized medical outcomes measurement and reporting system. Jens is currently an Executive Director at the Boston Consulting Group.

Dr. Grant T. Savage, PhD is a professor of management in the Management, Information Systems, and Quantitative Methods Department within the School of Business at University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Savage also serves as the co-director of the Healthcare Leadership Academy for UAB’s academic health center.

Dr. César Velasco Muñoz, MD, PhD serves as the Healthcare Innovation and Integral Management Director at Vall d’Hebron Barcelona Hospital.

He is also an adjunct Professor of RMIT University, Board Member, new technologies and innovation of the Spanish Vaccinology Association, and former Medical Vice-Director of Hospital Clínico Lozano Blesa.


             Jury pool



Prof. dr. Thomas Lee, MD is a Chief Medical Officer at Press Ganey Associates.  In addition he is former professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and co-author with Porter on “The Strategy That Will Fix Health Care”.



Prof. dr. Amit Kapoor is Honorary chairman of Indian Center of Competitiveness and winner of the India Porter Prize 2012/2013. In additon, he is member of the MOC Harvard Hall-of-Fame.


Prof. Thomas W. Feeley, MD is Helen Shafer Fly Distinguished Professor of Anesthesiology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Head of Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care & Head of Institute for Cancer Care Innovation at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.